Day 5 – Writing, writing, writing

Mosaic staff writer Shauli Bar-On stresses out about deadline. // Photo by Avni Prasad, Mosaic Staff

Mosaic staff writer Shauli Bar-On stresses out about deadline. // Photo by Avni Prasad, Mosaic Staff

By Shauli Bar-On, Mosaic Staff

Deadline day in Mosaic is nothing like deadline day in my high school paper. The stress? Yeah that’s about the same. But the feedback is infinitely better.

When deadline day approaches me in the classroom, many times I am the one forced to give feedback to underclassmen reporters. But here in Mosaic, I received top-notch editing from legendary journalists.

The great David Early was the first to set eyes on my freshly printed first draft. There will be many more drafts to come…

Today was the first day I didn’t leave the newsroom. It was all writing, writing, writing.

I made the deadline, so I can still say I have yet to commit the most horrific sin in journalism — late articles.

Turning in those papers to my editors for the weekend is an unexplainable feeling. I am scheduled for some conference calls tomorrow morning and am prepared for some massive article butchering.

It’s a good kind of butchering, though. Because only I will know of it, and the articles that end up being published with my byline will be the only ones the public sees.

Leave a Reply

