Day 5 – The dreaded deadline

Mosaic reporters AJ De Las Alas and Sidra Rashid take a quick selfie in the middle of their busy day.

Mosaic reporters AJ De Las Alas and Sidra Rashid take a quick selfie in the middle of their busy day.

By Sidra Rashid, Mosaic Staff

Yesterday was such a cool day! Hector Tobar, the Pulitzer Prize winning journalist who wrote about the LA Riots and the Chilean coal miners came to speak to us. He talked about how he got into journalism, and answered all of our questions. In the evening a couple of us went to a panel on Journalism and Democracy in California, which was an event created by On the Road with California Humanities. We got to hear Pulitzer prize winning journalists talk about their experience in the field. It was so inspiring to hear everything they have accomplished in their career.

But oh my gosh. Today was such a stressful day. I woke up and thought it was Thursday, prepared to have my article in tomorrow. Unfortunately it seems I have become horrible in telling the days apart, and today was the dreaded deadline. My article about first time voters has been very stressful, because it has been surprisingly difficult to find young Hillary and Trump supporters to interview. The Bernie Sanders supporters are everywhere, so that point of view was very easily to attain. I had a ton of interviews today to get through, two on the phone and one in person. I was also planning on going to visit the Santa Clara Republican Headquarters, and the Bay Area Democratic Headquarters. However, due to the fact that I had less than one hundred words written, I decided to skip that. I spent from 1:30 to 5:00 just writing. Getting the words on the page were easy- having quotes really helps jack up the word count. However, now editing is going to be the hard part. My word count is way too high, and I am horrible at editing my own writing. Lucky for me, I have wonderful editors who will help me with that process. Later tonight, we will be going on a nightlife tour of downtown with Joe. It sounds like it will be a lot of fun, and I’m really excited for the rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

