Day 5 – Fueling the flame

By Mitchell Lai, Mosaic Staff

There’s no better time to write a blog post than one o’clock in the morning – seriously. After going on Joe’s nightlife tour, the experience reminds me of what I have discovered on the very first day – “Everything has a story.” Walking through downtown San Jose, I wouldn’t have given a second thought to any of the establishments that we passed by, but looking at its culture and demography, I began to question why it is that way. Why does this particular club attract a certain group of people? Why this? Why that? Before I knew it, I was questioning every aspect of downtown San Jose. But in a certain light, the “unknown” and the “why” factor of journalism is what fuels the flame. It’s like throwing logs in a campfire: the pre-existing questions gets consumed, and we produce a bright fire of answers, but if we don’t continue asking questions, no new answers will prevail and the old flames will die out by the next morning.

I think it’s important as reporters to keep questioning the world around us. It’s literally our job to interview others, but I think it should go beyond that. A perpetual curiosity should guide the way we live every day. Not only does it allow us to find a “story in everything,” but it allows us to recognize the beauty in the subtleties of our world. I particularly remember a group of Mexican fans outside a hotel during our nightlife tour. The sound of drums pounding, cars honking, singing, chanting, stripes of red, green, and white blending together among the conglomerate mass, yet seen so clearly worn by each individual in the crowd. Yet, it was the ever-present sense of national pride worn on the sleeve of everyone there that stuck out to me. See, I remember this situation so vividly, not because I have a video recording on my cellphone – quite the opposite in fact. By not recording the sensation, I, for the first time, realized the power behind just being in the moment, letting the curiosity and the inherent questioning of the world take over. Ralph Waldo Emerson once wrote, “Most people do not see the sun. At least they have a very superficial seeing. The sun illuminates only the eye of the man, but shines into the eye and the heart of the child.” I think I found my inner child today.

I don’t know, just food for thought. I have weird thoughts at 1:30 A.M.

Leave a Reply

