Day 4 – The most exciting place in San Jose

Pulitzer Prize winner Henry Tobar speaks to the staff about his experiences in the field // Photo by Sophie Penn, Mosaic Staff

Pulitzer Prize winner Henry Tobar speaks to the staff about his experiences in the field // Photo by Sophie Penn, Mosaic Staff

By Sophie Penn, Mosaic Staff

Today we got the opportunity to see the broadcast room on campus. We got to check out the green screen, and even got to sit behind the desk and watch as our backdrops changed on the TV screen. Did I mention that Marcos brought his super cute daughter? She was adorable, I think she should definitely be a permanent member of Mosaic. She hung out in the newsroom all day playing with her toys. Honestly, I was a little jealous. I miss coloring books!

After lunch, Hector Tobar met with us and explained how he became a journalist. It was really inspiring to see how he had gone from a high school student who had never taken a journalism class, to a famous reporter for some of the biggest publications in the U.S. He also gave advice on pursuing journalism as a career. Unfortunately, I was so exhausted that I kept spacing out while he talked. Whoops!

I’ve been stuck in the newsroom pretty much all day, and I think it’s safe to say that this is not the most exciting place to be in San Jose. I was hoping to get out and take some more photos around the area, but no one needed me today. The good news is, I experimented with a shallow depth of field and a 70-200 mm camera, and I am completely obsessed!! I lowkey feel like a stalker zooming in on people from 20 ft away, but it’s extremely entertaining. Deadlines are tomorrow, and everyone is starting to get stressed out. The next 24 hours should be interesting…

Leave a Reply

