Day 4 – Big day at Mosaic

Mosaic roommates Emily Luong and Maya Diaz pose for a picture in front of the green screen in the SJSU broadcasting studio.

Mosaic roommates Emily Luong and Maya Diaz pose for a picture in front of the green screen in the SJSU broadcasting studio.

By Emily Luong, Mosaic Staff

It’s been a big day for all of us at Mosaic. Someone finally called Lauryn back, Anais and Sunny went to interview soccer players from Mexico and Chile (and Sunny’s story might make the entire population of Mexico hate her…), and I finally sorted through all of my quotes from my interviews yesterday. We also got to see the broadcasting room, which was such a cool experience. I never really understood how green screens worked until today. We took roommate pictures!

More importantly, however, we were in the same room as Hector Tobar. For two hours. Hector. Tobar. Oh my god.

I mean, this guy has a Wikipedia page! That’s a big deal, in my book. To me, that means you’re important and well-known enough to be written about by other people. To have strangers invested in your life is an honor and a measure of success.

Or they could just be creepy stalkers. But I’d rather think of it the other way.

Hector shared advice that was actually useful and original, not generic “be creative” cliches, which I appreciated a lot. Some of this included the following: If you’re writing a dry story, invest yourself in the details, humanize the subjects, and don’t go to an interview with a list of questions without being open to having an informal conversation. As someone who is new to journalism, the fountain of information that Hector was offered an almost overwhelming experience.

In order to take his advice, Claudia suggested a change in the lead of my story, which will involve contacting one of the teachers I interviewed yesterday…someone I don’t know. This’ll be an interesting experience, if anything, and I’m excited to see where it’ll lead.

Leave a Reply

