Day 1 – Everything has a story

Mercury News Staff Writer David Early shares stories from the field with the Mosaic class. // Photo by Imran Najam

Mercury News Staff Writer David Early shares stories from the field with the Mosaic class. // Photo by Imran Najam

By Mitchell Lai, Mosaic Staff Writer

Today was the first day in the newsroom, and I can simply describe this experience as inspiring. Rather than writing about everything that went on today, I want to focus in on something that altered my perspective on journalism, our talk with David Early. I felt as though our talk with David Early is something I will carry with me for the rest of this program and probably for the rest of my life. I remember asking him the question, “What is the biggest takeaway or lesson from being a news reporter for all these years?” “It’s the ability to tell a good story,” he replied. “Everything has a story, and it’s your job as a reporter to tell that story.” I think that reply will change the way I approach journalism for the rest of my life. Rather than looking for facts per se, Early emphasized the importance of finding some memorable detail, or in other words, finding the “magic” of journalism. I think this mindset will play a large role in my first story, which will be about teen homelessness in San Jose and the impacts of affordable housing on teen homelessness. Anyway, I’m looking forward to working with Rob (my editor) and my peers for the remainder of the program.

Leave a Reply

