Day 1 – Daunting, to say the least

The 2016 Mosaic staff listens intently to David Early's words of wisdom. // Photo by Imran Najam

The 2016 Mosaic staff listens intently to David Early’s words of wisdom. // Photo by Imran Najam

By Sophie Penn, Mosaic Staff Writer

Starting my first day of work at Mosaic was a little overwhelming at first. Coming into the program for photography when I have almost no experience taking pictures was daunting to say the least.

In the morning, David Early spoke to us about journalism and the Mercury News. His stories of his experiences writing, and his obvious passion for journalism was inspiring. By the time he had finished talking, I was ready to jump out of my seat and set out to change the world.

After we took a quick lunch break, we met with our editors. There are only 3 photographers, which means we will probably be spread a little thin the next two weeks. After getting my camera  and playing around with the settings for a while, I began to grow more comfortable with the instrument. I’m looking forward to starting assignments, and I hope to be able to incorporate video journalism into my projects as well. I can’t wait to see what the next two weeks will bring!

Leave a Reply

