Day 10 – Wi-Fi, why did you disappear?

The Wi-Fi panic in the SJSU dorms ended by 9:50 p.m. // Snapchat by Adele Shen

The Wi-Fi panic in the SJSU dorms ended by 9:50 p.m. // Snapchat by Adele Shen

By Jacky Tsang, Mosaic Staff Writer

Deadline is today. Fortunately, I was only up until 1:30 A.M. working on my story.

When I went back to my dorm at 6:30 P.M., I was a little worried for my story; I was confused and I wasn’t sure how to approach. I decided to put it off until I ate dinner. This gave me more time to think and process what I should write about.

However, I faced even more problems afterwards. I was frustrated, and I continued to do more research, which only helped slightly. I finally started after I made the decision to change the angle of my story. But then, the internet shut down, at around 9 P.M., and I fell asleep too since I couldn’t do anything.

I think I fell asleep from frustration because I never fall asleep too early. I guess it was because the story was due the very next day in the morning, and I didn’t even have a single word down. And having no wifi rendered me useless, and I was really mad. In a world with internet, it’s hard to go a day without it, especially if you need it to risk getting yelled at by your editor.

At around 11 P.M., I woke up, with news from my dorm mates that the internet came back. I worked quickly and rapidly, editing at the same time. I polished and corrected and made sure my story made sense.

Finally, at 1:30am, I finished. I decided not to sleep because I just didn’t want to. I wanted to watch something on Netflix, but I recently finished watching my favorite T.V. show, Scandal, so I didn’t know what to do.

Actually, when I finished Scandal, my life felt empty and I seriously didn’t know what to do. At the same time, I’m glad I finished it before yesterday night’s frustration. I would’ve been too distracted watching Scandal rather than doing my work.
Anyways, working under deadline wasn’t too bad. I finished on time, and I could’ve gotten a good night’s sleep, but I decided to watch YouTube videos afterwards. Honestly, I waste a lot of time doing nothing, and I really should spend time with these people because we’re all leaving soon in less than three days.

Leave a Reply

