Day 10 – Deadline

Mosaic reporters Adele Shen and Brady N. Delgadillo hitch a ride on the Muni during the staff trip to San Francisco. // Photo by Adele Shen

Mosaic reporters Adele Shen and Brady N. Delgadillo hitch a ride on the Muni during the staff trip to San Francisco. // Photo by Adele Shen

By Brady N. Delgadillo, Mosaic Staff Writer

Wednesday, June 24th, 2015 marks the official deadline for Mosaic. Some are in tears while others are just happy to be done. Personally, tears have been streaming down my face this morning. As I am writing this, I am wiping away a flow of tears before they can hit my keyboard and cause water damage. The stress levels have been so high to the point that I am doubting my future career goals. I suppose I will have to move to plan B: opening a Filipino restaurant.

Kidding. Though reaching the deadline has been stressful, I was able to have both my stories in. Last week, I doubted that my stories would ever evolve into something worth reading, but now I can’t wait to see them printed on Friday. My stories consisted of evaluating the impacts of San Jose’s ban on bags and a feature story on an adult ESL class.

I am truly looking forward to reading all of my peers/friend’s articles. The only downside of this is that Mosaic is almost over.

We have come a long way since the first time when we brainstormed our story ideas. Since then, we have learned an abundance of journalistic skills that would not be possible to learn elsewhere. Mosaic has given us a unique opportunity to be real journalists. It has been a major bonding experience so far. On Sunday, we took Caltrain to San Francisco and walked around the city. We went to a fortune cookie factory, watched a break dance performance, and even met three Irish men. The experience we had in SF will be one to remember.

Now, we just wait for print day on Friday.

Leave a Reply

