Day 5 – A surreal day in Oakland

Mosaic staff writer Tomas Mier interviews a Warriors fan outside the Henry J. Kaiser Convention Center. // Photo by Robert Salonga

Mosaic staff writer Tomas Mier interviews a Warriors fan outside the Henry J. Kaiser Convention Center. // Photo by Robert Salonga

By Tomas Mier, Mosaic Staff Writer

“Wakey Wakey.” It’s what David said as he walked into my room at 6:10 Friday morning, 20 minutes before we were supposed to leave to go to Oakland for the Warriors Victory Parade. The night before I had a plan for that morning: wake up at 5:45, put on some sunblock, get some Starbucks coffee and then head out to Oakland.

This would’ve happened if I hadn’t set my alarm to 5:45 P fricking M…

Still half-asleep, David, Rachel, Sara and I headed out to downtown Oakland. People packed the streets. The atmosphere in Oakland felt a lot different. For some reason, I didn’t feel the tension and fear I usually feel when entering the city.

Rachel and I stuck around at the rally area where people with lawn chairs sat out there since 2 AM.

The dedication and love these fans had for their Warriors was incomparable. Many skipped work, spent lots of money, and one guy even flew out from Dallas just for the parade and rally.

By the time I finished my interviews, I was hella hungry. I left Rachel for her to take some photos and I went to look for some food. Luckily, I found one of those Mexican guys who sell the “churros” with tapatío and limón… so much for breakfast.

I met up with Rachel again and went to the press area. We were going to be so close to the stage. I was super pumped.

After sitting in the sun for like forever, the ceremony began and we were SUPER close to the stage. Stephen Curry was like 10 feet from where we were.

As the politicians, owners, and players gave their speeches, fans yelled at the top of their lungs. I was particularly captured by the crowd’s spontaneous yells of “STAY IN OAKLAND!” This team is definitely an Oakland team.

Some players gave speeches and goofed around on the stage. They had fun and that vibe transmitted into the crowd where people punched around a big beach ball.

Riley Curry was one of the stars of the rally. The two-year-old played games on her dad’s phone and was just my favorite person. When her dad came up to the podium, Riley came along and started to sing “Blessings” by Big Sean. Everyone loves that kid, I even saw a sign saying “Riley for MVP.”

Overall, this rally was so awesome. I don’t know how to describe it. It was surreal. Oakland finally has something positive to talk about– their Warriors are the NBA champions.

That’s what stayed with me… along with the sunburns.

Leave a comment