Day 5 – This is legit.

Mosaic staff writer Sara Ashary joins the press pit at the Warriors victory parade. // Photo by David Early, Mosaic Staff Photographer

Mosaic staff writer Sara Ashary joins the press pit at the Warriors victory parade. // Photo by David Early, Mosaic Staff Photographer

By Sara Ashary, Mosaic Staff Writer

So we survived a day in Oakland today. For a somewhat sheltered Bay Area teen, I am oddly very proud of myself because Oakland has the bad reputation. Although, I interviewed locals and they were so proud to be from there!  I walked with our supervisor Brian and the photographer David around the parade and I saw a bunch of famous people not only correlating to the Warriors but also politicians like Nancy Pelosi. Something that shocked me was that when the police came up on the parade, some people booed! Brian and I got to spend a lot of time together and he gave me some great future advice for a journalist, he also bought a lot of water for all of us, I hope he gets reimbursed.

I was super sleepy the whole day so I went to CVS and bought a Red Bull. I AM STILL SO AWAKE. I guess I am learning some life lessons in the Mosaic….like not to drink Red Bull…ever..like ever. Red Bull taste like thin syrup mixed in with some cough medicine. I will never get how people actually drink that stuff.

It was so crowded… holy guacamole! IT IS A WONDERFUL THING I AM NOT CLAUSTROPHOBIC BECAUSE I WOULD NOT HAVE MADE IT DEAR MOTHER GOD!!!! There were 500,000 people there… can you believe that? I can, because I looked back from the press box and there were people as far as I could see. Crowds of bright yellows and blue cheering on and smiling.

After the parade, the three of us managed to get to the Press box and meet up with Robert, Tomas, and Rachel. And in the moment, I was like “Woah, this is legit.” We were super close to the big stars! Like no joke, Steph Curry was like ten feeet away from me! I had to be very professional and take notes while the photographers took some dope pictures! Okay, can I just say… never ask another journalist for their press pass. I really wanted one so I asked some stranger…and yah it was not a good idea. Either way, it was terrific experience. This was definitely worth waking up five in the morning for!

Leave a Reply

