Day 4 – Challenges

Frank, a homeless Vietnam veteran, speaks to a Mosaic staff reporter. // Photo by Steven Barajas, Mosaic Staff Photographer

Frank, a homeless veteran, speaks to a Mosaic reporter. // Photo by Steven Barajas, Mosaic Staff Photographer

By Steven Barajas, Mosaic Staff Photographer

When I first arrived here, I expected a challenge. But nothing like the ones I have received lately. It’s nothing I can’t handle but it forces you to push yourself out of your comfort zone and do your best. My first challenge was coming up with a topic for a photo essay, I thought I had a solid idea about homelessness. Karl quickly stopped me and reminded me how broad homelessness really is. Karl is an enormous help and inspiration, I have proposed about four ideas and they have all been shot down. It’s not something to take personal because Karl and everyone here really want us to succeed, I really appreciate the push everyone here gives. I have yet to find my topic but with help from the the amazing staff at Mosaic I rest assured that everything will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

